Grade Specific Assessment Information


Delaware System of Student Assessment (DESSA)

  • Smarter testing is given in reading and mathematics for students in grades 3-8 during the spring. DeSSA is given in science (grades 5, 8, and High School Biology) and social studies (grades 4, 7, 11). Grade 11 students take SAT during the school-day as their state test.  DCAS Alt-1 remains the alternative test for students with severe cognitive disabilities. English Language Learners take ACCESS (Assessing Comprehension and Communication in English State-to-State) until demonstrating proficiency in English. In winter of 2019, all 4th graders (except those at Mote and Lewis), all 8th graders, and 12th graders at AIHS will take the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), also known as the nation’s report card. For NAEP, students do not receive an individual score but states do. In addition, in Red Clay students in grades 8, 9, and 10 take the PSAT. . Red Clay is committed to secure test administration; parents with any concerns about appropriate testing practices should notify the building administrator.


    Test windows for state and national tests in the 2019-2020 school year:

    February 3 - March 20

    ACCESS (for English Language Learners)

    March 16 - May 8 

    DeSSA Alt-1 (Reading and Mathematics grades 3-8, 11; Science grades 5, 8, 10)

    March 4  

    SAT School Day (grade 11), PSAT (grade 10)

    PSAT (grades 8 & 9)

    April 1 - May 22


    Smarter ELA & Mathematics (grades 3 - 8)

    DeSSA Science (grades 5, 8, High School Biology) and Social Studies (grades 4, 7, 11)