Cab Calloway School of the Arts School Choice Committee


    The Cab Calloway School of the Arts School Choice Committtee was created by board action on August 16, 2017.


    The text of the resolution is as follows:

    School Board Motion for School Choice Committee Date: Wednesday, August 16, 2017 Committee: School Choice – Cab Calloway

    “Cab is a wonderful school which is rated 2nd in the state, nationally, is 59th among magnet schools, and overall 252nd among public schools in the United States. The teachers, students and administrators made this a great school to attend. We understand the school was formed as a regional type of magnet. However, times have changed – finances are very tight, our constituents paid for this building and this wonderful auditorium, and our students should enjoy it - this is a tough environment for all districts – time for a change.

    We truly appreciate the steps that Cab Calloway and the district have made with the recent changes to the admissions process to make Cab Calloway School of the Arts more accessible to Red Clay students. Nonetheless, we believe the goal is to get Cab Calloway, a Red Clay school, to be populated with Red Clay students consistent with the State preference law. Therefore…..

    We move that the district establish a committee to develop a concrete plan (preferably with options) to be presented to the Board at its March 2018 meeting for implementation in the 2019 SY, designed to significantly increase the Red Clay student population at Cab Calloway School of the Arts, consistent with the state preference law and to significantly increase the number of Red Clay under-represented schools enrolled at Cab Calloway. The committee should be open and inclusive and, at a minimum, include teachers, administrators, students, parents, and community members and should hold meetings open to the public at which public input is welcomed.”

CCSA Choice Agendas & Minutes

Committee Members

  • Below are the Red Clay employees and community members who have agreed to serve on this committee. If you have comments to share with the committee, please forward them to Ted.Ammann to be shared with the group at the next committee meeting.

    Crystal Haas

    David Kelleher

    Elizabeth Inman-Moran

    Joe Weeks

    Joslyn Morris

    Judith Conway

    Julie Rumschlag

    Kia Roy

    Kim Markiewicz

    Kori Beaman

    Kristine Bewley

    Marti Lassman

    Marybest Werb

    Rob Surles

    Sam Golder

    Sophie Mirtoznik (Student)

    Yvonne Johnson